Prediction of the Proceeds of Sloth

Currently in ENG1D we are reading a novel called “Ship Breaker” at the end of Chapter 1 it was left uncertain what would happen to a character named Sloth because she didn’t help one of her co-ship breakers, this is what I predict will happen in the next chapter.

I believe that when Nailer surfaces back on board the boat, Sloth will be removed from their ship because she wanted to claim the “Lucky Strike” for her own and take over Nailer’s position when he died. On page 29 Sloth claimed that “Pima says I’m supposed to hook you up good. If I find you.” This shows that Pima cares about Nailer and would care if he died, because, Sloth did not follow Pima’s order and help Nailer. I feel she will be kicked off the ship for being greedy and harmful and, subsequently drown in the water.

Now that I have finished chapter 6 and am aware of what happens to Sloth, I am disappointed in the authors choice as Sloth being kicked out was not very in-depth or as harsh as I expected. Although I am disappointed in this outcome, I am also, excited to see Sloth possibly return in the future.

Leave a comment